18 hour Mega – Block on CR this weekend, trains cancelled



The Central Railway will impose an 18-hour mega block on its main line on Sunday owing to the work for dismantling the century-old Hancock bridge, which will impact operations of some suburban and Express services.

Due to the mega block, some trains moving to and fro from CST will be cancelled, diverted and short-terminated from today till January 10, a CR statement said.

All CST-bound suburban services would be terminated at Byculla station and then depart from there, the statement said, adding that total 150 suburban and 42 mail and express trains will remain cancelled today, tomorrow and on Sunday.

The mega-block will start at 12.20 AM on Sunday and continue till 6.20 PM that day which is likely to cause problems to daily commuters and long distance passengers.

After dismantling the 137-year-old Hancock bridge, near Sandhurst road station, a new bridge would be built at same place by the CR.

Dismantling and then re-constructing the bridge will allow trains to run between Dadar and CST without speed restrictions, an official said.

According to the statement, the trains that will remain cancelled today are – Train No.16340 Nagercoil-CST Mumbai Express, Train No.11028 Chennai-CST Mumbai Mail and Train No.11020 Bhubaneshwar-CST Mumbai Konark Express.

The trains which will be cancelled tomorrow are – Train No. 51028 Pandharpur-CST Mumbai Passenger, Train No. 51034 Sainagar Shirdi-CST Mumbai Passenger, Train No. 11306 Solapur-CST Mumbai Express, Train No. 11402 Nagpur-CST Mumbai Nandigram Express, Train No. 12112 Amaravati-CST Mumbai Express, Train No. 22108 Latur-CST Mumbai Express, Train No. 11024 Shri Chhatrapati Shahu Maharaj(T)-Mumbai Sahyadri Exp and Train No. 02597 Gorakhpur-CST Mumbai Special.

The trains to remain cancelled on January 10 are-Train No.11010 Pune-CST Mumbai Sinhagad Express, Train No.22102 Manmad-CST Mumbai Rajya Rani Express, Train No.12124 Pune-CST Mumbai Deccan Queen Express, Train No.12110 Manmad-CST Mumbai Panchavati Express, Train No.12126 Pune-CST Mumbai Pragati Express, Train No.51154 Bhusaval-CST Mumbai Passenger.

Besides, Train No.11008 Pune-CST Mumbai Deccan Express, Train No.11030 Shri Chhatrapati Shahu Maharaj(T)-CST Mumbai Koyna Express, Train No.12128 Pune-CST Mumbai Intercity Express and Train No.22106 Pune-CST Mumbai Indrayani Express will also remain cancelled on January 10, said the statement.

The suburban services will remain suspended between CST and Byculla from 12.20 AM to 6.30 PM on Sunday.

The last local leaving from CST will be for Kasara at 12.10 AM on January 10 and last local for Karjat will leave CST at 12.30 AM. There will no block on the harbour line.

This article was originally published on Economic Times

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s